4 stars · Historical Romance · Panty Melter

Sutherland’s Secret (Highland Pride #1) by Sharon Cullen

Sutherland's Secret Book Cover Sutherland's Secret
Highland Pride
Sharon Cullen
Historical Romance
January 19, 2016


f you love Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, don’t miss Sharon Cullen’s captivating Highland Pride novels! Sutherland’s Secret kicks off a series that’s overflowing with mouthwatering Scottish warriors, captivating history, and forbidden desire.

Terror reigns in the aftermath of the Battle of Culloden. As British troops obliterate the last traces of the Jacobite cause, Brice Sutherland, the Earl of Dornach, risks everything to arrange a covert escape route to Canada for his fellow Scots. But when he encounters a dying Englishwoman, hauntingly beautiful though scarred by manacles and unable to speak, Brice’s true courage is put to the test. Nothing but ruin could result from helping her, or worse: falling in love.

The pampered daughter of a marquess, Eleanor Hirst was the talk of the London season when she wed the Earl of Glendale. Little did she know that his posting as an officer in Scotland would be their undoing. Now her husband is dead and Eleanor is a fugitive in a hostile country. Desperate for help, she throws herself on the mercy of Brice Sutherland, a handsome Scottish warrior who should be her enemy. Instead, he cares for her tenderly, reviving her shattered spirit—and awakening urges unlike any she’s ever known.

Val’s Review

3.75-4 Stars

So this was a pretty solid historical/highlander read.

And – for once – when my husband said, “What are you reading about?”

I felt all badass because I could actually say it was about something LEGIT and not just sparkly vampires, rich billionaires, BDSM, and/or fictional MC clubs.

So this is how that convo went:

Hubs: “What are you reading about today babe?”

Me: “A scintillating tale about Scotland and the Jacobites following the Battle of Culloden.”

Hubs: “What’s a Jacobite?”

Me: *crickets…fucking crickets*

description

Yeah…thwarted yet again.

And apparently, I need to REALLY work on my world history, cause homie knows jack SHIT about Scotland outside what I learned in Rob Roy and Braveheart.

I know…we Americans and our ridiculously narrow world view, what can I say…

description

Le sorry.

Anyway, here’s what I DO know about Scotland and the Battle of Culloden:

They.

Wear.

Kilts.

description

And I dig it.

description

Not every man can handle the kilt either.

description

The true master?

description

description

But I digress.

Back to the book.

Like I said, this was a very solid historical/highlander book. The writing was very well done and I really liked the setting and the premise, the premise being that a Scottish clan leader discovers what appears to be a severely injured English Lady on the side of the “road.”

I enjoyed the plot and the characters for the most part, although I will say that the h’s…”transition” came off as a little…sudden for it to be completely believable for me.

This book is marketed as being for fans of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty’s books. I haven’t read enough of McCarty’s books to speak accurately to that; however, I LOVE Maya Banks’ highlander books and I have read them all REPEATEDLY.

Now, I can’t say that I like this booked as much as I loved my precious McCabes and Montgomerys & Armstrongs, but being that the next book in that series keeps getting pushed back – to 2035 at one point! LOL – this makes a nice substitute in the meantime.