3 stars · Angsty/Emotional · Forbidden Romance · Jenny Recent Review · New Adult · Secret Relationship

One Small Thing by Erin Watt

One Small Thing Book Cover One Small Thing
Erin Watt
Fiction, New Adult Romance
June 26th 2018
Yes

From No. 1 New York Times bestselling author duo Erin Watt comes an addictive new contemporary YA tale of a girl who falls for the boy who inadvertently killed her sister in a car accident—perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Kasie West and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

 

Beth’s life hasn’t been the same since her sister died. Her parents try to lock her down, believing they can keep her safe by monitoring her every move. When Beth sneaks out to a party one night and meets the new guy in town, Chase, she’s thrilled to make a secret friend. It seems a small thing, just for her.

Only Beth doesn’t know how big her secret really is…

Fresh out of juvie and determined to start his life over, Chase has demons to face and much to atone for, including his part in the night Beth’s sister died. Beth, who has more reason than anyone to despise him, is willing to give him a second chance. A forbidden romance is the last thing either of them planned for senior year, but the more time they spend together, the deeper their feelings get.

Now Beth has a choice to make—follow the rules, or risk tearing everything apart…again.

Jenny’s Review

 

“You waiting for me is the ONE SMALL THING that will keep me going.”

This is hard. Hard to write. Hard to review. Why? Because I loved this book and I disliked this book.

First things first, this book teaches you many things, most importantly to follow your heart no matter what any one says. It’s hard to be pushed down, talked down to, but in the end, stay true to you and follow your own path. This book is emotional, it’s sad, it’s raw, and it definitely touches your soul.

I don’t want to say much about the plot of this book, although early on I had my hunches on what would happen and how. I wasn’t wrong. However, to read this book, it brought out so many emotions in me. At the end I was left needing more, wanting more, and mad because I want it now. Again, I enjoyed this story but the ending, to me, was way too rushed. Chase and Beth definitely touched my heart, I just need more to them ❤

You Might Also Enjoy